City Council and Mayor

Mayor Sandy Railey

Mayor Sandy Railey cropped

Mayor Pro-Tem Thomas Gillespie

Gillespie cropped

Councilmember Phil Bonham

Phil Bonham cropped

Councilmember Ken Ervin

Ken Ervin cropped

Councilmember Candy Funderburk

Candy Funderburk cropped

Councilmember Travis Smith

The duties of the Mayor and Council

Together, the Mayor and Council members are responsible for establishing the general policies under which the city operates. These include:

  • Appointing the City Manager and members of various boards and commissions.
  • Reviewing the annual budget, setting the tax rate and approving the financing of all city operations.
  • Authorizing contracts on behalf of the city.


  • 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers
  • 2nd Tuesday of every month
  • City Hall, 101 W First Street, Lowell, NC 28098

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Lowell's Vision Statement

To be an inviting community where generations come together to live, work, and play.